Irrigation & Water Resources Department, Mizoram had a humble beginning as a wing under Agriculture Department in September, 1984. Initially, the wing had one division with headquarters at Aizawl and two sub-divisions namely, Aizawl and Serchhip sub-divisions. There had been incremental expansion over the years and by the time Irrigation & Water Resources Department was created by way of bifurcating Agriculture Department in May, 2007, there are four working divisions and nine sub-divisions headed by Joint Director in the headquarters. Subsequently, Irrigation & Water Resources Department, Mizoram have been strengthened and restructured into full-fledged Technical Department; presently, the Department is headed by Chief Engineer who is supported by two Superintending Engineers, five Executive Engineers, Deputy Director (Admn.), Finance & Accounts Officer and Research Officer in the headquarters. In the fields, there are four working divisions and ten sub-divisions for execution of the various schemes under Irrigation & Water Resources Department.